Home > Schools > High Schools > Terre Haute South... 



For all attendance issues and questions call 812-462-4263

For all other questions, please dial 812-462-4252

Attention Seniors

Meeting for Class rings and Senior Cap and gown will be morning of Nov. 30.

Order Dates and time for Cap/gown and class rings are as follows:

Dec. 7 At South 10:42-12:08 (lunch time) and again that evening from 5-7PM.
If you cannot order that day Josten's will be at West and North and you may place your order there.
Dec. 6 @West H.S. 5-7pm
Dec. 8 @ North H.S. 5-7pm
Class of 2017
Class of 2017

Congratulations Pride of South Marching Band

Congratulations to the Pride of South Marching Band on an outstanding weekend!  They earned a Gold Rating at ISSMA Scholastic Prelims, which advances them on to State Scholastic Finals on October 22nd!!!  This will be the band's 4th consecutive Scholastic State Finals competition!  Also, the band earned a "With Distinction" Award in Music!  Great job Pride of South!

PSAT-October 19th

For more information regarding the PSAT stop by the guidance office.

1st Trimester Finals

Finals will be on the following dates:
Wednesday November 2nd-1st and 4th hour
Thursday November 3rd-2nd and 5th hour
Friday November 4th-3rd hour

New Main Office Secretary

We would like to welcome our new front office secretary, Ms. Carol Walker.  She comes to us from Honey Creek middle school and we are proud to have her.

New Teacher In PE

We welcome Steve DeGroote to the PE department.  He will be with us the remainder of the 2016-2017 school year.

Reports Cards

Report cards were distributed on Friday September 23rd. 

Congratulations Science Research Students

Congratulations to Terre Haute South Science Research Students Anthony Weng and Jenny Bai. Anthony and Jenny were recently named two of the top twelve high school science researchers in the State of Indiana.

Anthony and Jenny competed at the Indiana Academy of Science Talent Search in Marian University.  Anthony won First Place while Jenny won Fourth Place.

Anthony will now be presenting his research at the American Association for the Advancement of Science Conference with the American Junior Academy of Science in Boston, MA in February 16-20, 2017.

Mrs. Melanie Huber, Terre Haute South Science Department Chair, AP/A Chemistry teacher  is the Science Research Sponsor and will accompany Anthony to Boston in February.

Picture is attached. Left, Anthony Weng and Right, Jenny Bai
Anthony and Jenny

College Connection Coach

Did you know we have someone who wants to help you connect  with the right college? Mr. Burks is located in the counselor's office and would love to help you with your college decision. Sign up to see him today.

Females in Technology Quilt and Donuts

Females in Technology are raffling off a quilt.  Tickets cost $1 and the winner will be drawn on November 16th. 
They are also selling donuts and cocoa the first Wednesday of every month.  Come to room 216 for more details.

2016 Fall Homecoming Court

Freshmen Attendants
Migena Ramadani
Lexi Swan

Sophomore Attendants
Anna Dubois
Apsara Sakbun

Junior Attendants
Gretchen Anne Etling
Maggie Mullican

Junior Crownbearer
Kate Grabowski

Senior Candlelighters
Maddy Crapo
Maria Martinez

Senior Attendants
Hanna Gage
Molly Essig

Isabelle Findley

Awesome Job Band Students!

"Congratulations to the following Freshman South Band members who performed with the Drum Corps International "InPact" Future-Band this past Saturday at DCI Finals at Lucas Oil Stadium."

"Students are:
Jacob Thacker and Henry Stofferahn on Tuba, Austin Willis on Alto Sax, Priscilla Liu and Cassie Golden on Clarinet, Julia Pomfret on French Horn,, and Sam Morgan on Percussion." 

Here is a little info about InPact Future-Band from the DCI website:

Through collaboration with each state’s music education and arts organizations with the Drum Corps International Tour as a backdrop, the BANDtastic Texas, BANDtastic Georgia and INpact Indiana's Future-Band initiatives will engage young minds and inspire young hearts. Participation in this program will motivate middle school students to consider the arts as they make important skills development decisions for their high school years and beyond, and impact lifelong arts behaviors.

  • The students performed as part of the "biggest middle school bands ever" in front of expected audiences of more than 12,000 spectators at large-scale, experience-of-a-lifetime DCI Tour events.  (LUCAS OIL ACTUALLY HAD 22,000, YES YOU READ THAT RIGHT, TWENTY TWO THOUSAND IN ATTENDANCE SATURDAY NIGHT!!)
  • The students performed with former David Letterman Night Show Band Trumpet Player AL CHEZ!!!
  • Several students from Wilson, Honey Creek, and South performed in the nearly 500 piece band!!!

New Lunch Prices Starting This Year

Adult Lunch $3.35
Student Lunch $2.75
Adult Breakfast $1.75
Student Breakfast $1.25
Reduced Lunch $.40
Reduced Breakfast $.30
New meal prices

Terre Haute South-Home of Mr./Ms. Science and Mr./Ms. Math

Terre Haute South is proud to announce we have had two more statewide Mr. and Ms. Science Award winners.  Thank you to the Science Department led by Mrs. Melanie Huber, we can proudly say that we have the 2016 Mr. and Mrs. Science for Indiana. The winners are Ms. Tinyue Cui and Mr. Sabin Karki.  With this award, they are the top two Science students in Indiana.
Sabine and Rita

Faculty-New Sign In/Out Sheet

Mrs. Luna-Schatz has created a new sign in sheet for your classrooms. Feel free to use it.
Sign In/Out Sheet  Download me! Download

New Website Administration

Please send all website questions, announcements, etc. to Ed Jarvis, edj@vigoschools.org

Printer Friendly Version